Wednesday, November 10, 2010
Mash-up of anything and everything...
Have you ever had one of those days where NOTHING, and I mean absolutely NOTHING, went your way? Yeah, that was my day yesterday. And the day before. And the day before that. For the last week or so things have just not been going my way. Yesterday was the tip of the iceberg (pardon the cliche). I'm naturally clumsy, but it was just ridiculous...I dropped a large camera on my foot (how it managed to hit BOTH of them, I have no idea), I ran into doorframes the whole lot of it. The end finally came when I went to Photography class. Our assignment this week was to take pictures that we thought captured romance then we would go into the Mac lab and merge a few of them in photoshop. Ok, the assignment I was fine with but I am not a fan of photoshop. Anyway, I took a few pictures of Mason and then some of Christine with roses and some of my ring. All of which to me exuded romance. In my opinion, there doesn't have to be two people in a photo, or even one for that matter, for a photo to be romantic. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and art is subjective. To make a long story short, my teacher basically told me that I didn't have anything that was romantic. He said that my final product was pretty interesting considering I didn't have anything to work with. Ouch. I don't cry that often and I was using all of my will power to completely stay stone-faced during the rest of class. He even said that I needed a guy in some of the photos of Christine. Ok, I'm not a feminist by any means, but I severely dislike being told I NEED a guy for anything. He never once said that we had to take pictures of couples or with more than one person in them. I'm sorry, but isn't it up to me as the photographer to decide how I want to approach this project? I'm standing by my photographs and will fight for them. He shouldn't be grading us on whether or not he LIKES our projects, he should be grading us on how the composition is and other technical aspects. After this whole fiasco, I had a lot of pent up energy and wanted to go for a run to get rid of it and blow off some steam. I got ready and then pulled my headphones out of my backpack and one of the earpieces just broke off. Seriously? That was it. I was finished. I called my mom and just started bawling. I couldn't hold it in anymore. The stress of this semester, plus the string of bad luck, and completely torn apart my spirit. I hate that feeling. The feeling of having no hope and just wanting to throw in the towel for the day or the week even. She humored me until I calmed down a bit and then snuck in the great question....what do you want for graduation? Ahhhh. Graduation. The light at the end of a very long tunnel. I hadn't even thought about it. I was under the impression that going to Germany, Poland and the Czech Republic last Spring Break was my "graduation present". So I honestly have no idea what I want/need. I'm moving back home so it's not as though I need dishes or furniture or something like that. I would like a job, or at least an inkling to what I want to do with my life. I still haven't figured that out, but that's ok. I can't wait to get out of Fulton. Sure, I'll miss my friends and learning, but I won't miss a lot of things. People always say that you'll miss it when you graduate or when you have a real job. I feel like I might be one of the fortunate few who is going to be doing a job that I LOVE to do...maybe enough that it won't feel like I'm slaving away and wasting my life on something that is draining and has no enjoyment. I will miss parts about college and, like I said, my friends most definitely but I'm ready to move on. My roommates are unbelievable and I have LOVED living with them this semester. They are enough to make me want to stay an extra extra semester, and then I think hard about it and...no. I'm ready to go home. Don't get me wrong, I love them. They definitely keep my life interesting, but I have things that I need to sort through and decide. Plus, plan a wedding. EEEEk. Speaking of which, let me get this out now....NO. We haven't set a date. No, I don't know my colors, where, what my dress is going to look like, flowers or anything else for that matter. So...when I do, I will let ya'll know. Alright? Good. Well, I'm off to Biology. Yuck. I seriously don't understand why I need this class but whatever. Then it's off to Shakespeare, Bio Lab, studying for my Comm Law and Ethics test and the GRE (which I'm taking on Saturday) and maybe a workout. Who knows? But it's looking like it's going to be a much better day....
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Love ya, dude. I'm pretty sure I know the teacher you're talking about, and let me tell ya...I turned in TONS of stuff he hated. I think standing by it is the best you can do and that he's one of those people who has been doing the same thing for so long he doesn't expect to see anything different. The good thing though is that the people who DO see things differently (like you do) are the ones who pave their own way in life--which is a pretty fun way to live, by the way :)
ReplyDelete