Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Silly Love Songs...

Hello all! I know that it's been a long time since I've written, but life has been crazy busy lately. Since graduating in December, I've moved back home and am searching for a job/graduate school. I've changed my mind and am no longer going to pursue Museum Studies...instead, I'm going to get my certification to teach. I know that I've continually said I don't want to, but when I think about life I realize that I've always been happiest in the school environment. I loved it as a kid and I love it now.
Now, I realize the title of this post is a little cheesy (especially because it was the title of the Glee episode tonight) but it kind of sums up my emotions at the moment. As you know, I love music. But the thing is, I've never been one to really fall in "love" with love songs. Don't get me wrong, I like them but they aren't my favorites. As for the episode of Glee tonight....AMAZING. I realize that the new season only started on Sunday but if the rest of the season goes the way these first two have gone it's going to be unbelievable!!
Speaking of unbelievable, for all of you ladies/Golden Girls fans I urge you to read Rue McClanahan's biography. It's called "My First Five Husbands and the Ones That Got Away". She is hilarious! I literally sped right through it and it made me realize things about my own life. She trusted her heart and her instincts when it came to what she wanted to do with her life. She realized she had a talent for entertaining and she had a no BS attitude. I truly admire that in people. While I know I can be brash at times, I look up to those who can control their mouths better than I can. Rue was definitely one of those people :)
Alright, now on to the venting...you knew this was going to come out sooner or later. I realized early in life that I could keep a few very close friends easier than I could a large group of decent ones. To me it was always quality over quantity. It got even more evident after I graduated from college. Seeing people everyday makes it easy to keep a relationship going with them. Living in the same house/apartment/dorm, playing sports or just having classes with these friends keeps it interesting and it guarantees that you will always have something in common with them. At least during your college career. What I realized, not only after graduating, but also living away from my comfort zone last semester was that I didn't have as much in common with people as I thought. It hurts when friends lose touch because of lack of communication not because of a fight or something silly like that...it's much worse when you come to the conclusion that the bonds you thought were cemented aren't. What you thought was concrete was merely sand.
Another issue I'm having at the moment is with "The Biggest Loser". Now, before I rant I must say that I absolutely love this show. What is irritating me this season is the "unknown ranchers/new red team". They are so cocky and rude. Rulon Gardner is on this team. He is an Olympic medalist in Grecco-Roman wrestling and is the worst of them all in my opinion. The way they carry themselves is horrifying. One woman missed her daughter's wedding for this. Her daughter told her to go, but that issue is going to come up again in a few years and it could possibly completely derail their relationship.
Alright...I'm through venting for this post. SO many exciting things are coming up shortly. For starters, this weekend I'm going to Jeff to see Mason. Then in March, Christine and I are going to California for Spring Break! We are going to San Diego and Oceanside and I am thrilled!! While I love snow, I need some sun in my life.
Hopefully this didn't bore you too terribly and I promise my next post will be back to my eclectic and scatter-brained style. I just had things that I needed to get off my chest.
I hope you all have a fabulous day!!